Commonwealth Electoral Division of Herbert (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Herbert AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir Robert Herbert (1831–1905), the first Premier of Queensland 1860–66.

Size & location description:

Herbert covers an area of approximately 946 sq km. It stretches west from the City of Townsville, predominantly north of the Ross River, but also includes Douglas and the defence establishment at Lavarack Barracks. The Division covers areas north of the Alice River through to the western Townsville City Council boundary. It encompasses Lynam to the west, and extends north from Townsville along the coast to Sleeper Log Creek. The division also includes Magnetic Island and Palm Islands. Townsville and its surrounding suburbs is the main population centre in the area.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Copper, nickel and zinc refineries, bulk sugar terminal, and tropical fruits, prawn and fishing industry, beef cattle and tourism. Townsville, noted for its port facilities, is also home to James Cook University, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and large defence establishments at Lavarack Barracks (Army) and Garbutt (RAAF).

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Lindsay, P (LP) 1996–
  • Lindsay, E J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Dean, A G (LP) 1977–1983
  • Bonnett, R N (LP) 1966–1977
  • Harding, E W (ALP) 1961–1966
  • Murray, J (LP) 1958–1961
  • Edmonds, W F (ALP) 1946–1958
  • Martens, G W (ALP/FLP) 1928–1946
  • Nott, L W (NAT) 1925–1928
  • Bamford, F W (ALP/NAT) 1901–1925

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.