Commonwealth Electoral Division of Dickson (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Dickson AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir James Dickson 1832–1901, a leading advocate of Federation, Queensland Premier 1898–99 and Minister for Defence in the first Federal Ministry.

Size & location description:

Dickson covers an area of approximately 772 sq km north and west of Brisbane. It includes the Moreton Bay Region Council. Suburbs and towns include Albany Creek, Arana Hills, Bray Park, Brendale, Cashmere, Dayboro, Eatons Hill, Everton Hills, Ferny Hills, Joyner, Kallangur, Lawnton, Mount Glorious, Mount Nebo, Petrie, Samford Valley, Strathpine and Warner.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Farming, retail and industrial activities.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Dutton, P (LP) 2001–
  • Kernot, C (ALP) 1998–2001
  • Smith, T (LP) 1996–1998
  • Lavarch, M H (ALP) 1993–1996

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.