Commonwealth Electoral Division of Dawson (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Dawson AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Andrew (Anderson) Dawson 1863–1910, Queensland's first Labor Premier 1899.

Size & location description:

Dawson covers an area of approximately 14 945 sq km from Mackay to Chelona in the south, and to Oonoonba in the north. It also includes the Whitsunday and Lindeman group of islands. Main towns include Proserpine, Airlie Beach, Bowen, Home Hill and Ayr, as well as the city of Mackay.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Various small crops, prawn and fish farms, sugar growing and refining, beef cattle, coal mining related industries, abattoirs and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Bidgood, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Kelly, D (NP) 1996–2007
  • Braithwaite, R A (NP) 1975–1996
  • Patterson, R A (ALP) 1966–1975
  • Shaw, G W (CP) 1963–1966
  • Davidson, C W (CP) 1949–1963

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.