Commonwealth Electoral Division of Bonner (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Bonner AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Neville Thomas Bonner AO in recognition of his services rendered as a Senator and leader of indigenous Australia.

Size & location description:

Bonner covers an area of approximately 360 sq km from the Port of Brisbane in the north to Lota in the southeast and to Rochedale and Mount Gravatt in the west. The main suburbs include Belmont, Burbank, Capalaba West, Carindale, Chandler, Gumdale, Hemmant, Lota, Lytton, Manly, Manly West, Mansfield, Moreton Island, Mount Gravatt, Ransome, Rochedale, Tingalpa, Upper Mt Gravatt, Wakerley, Wishart, Wynnum, Wynnum West and parts of Cannon Hill, Carina, Eight Mile Plains, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Mackenzie, Mount Gravatt East and Murarrie.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Industries include tourism, transport, manufacturing and retail. The Port of Brisbane is located in Bonner as are light industrial areas in Murarrie, Hemmant and Lytton.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Rea, K (ALP) 2007–
  • Vasta, R (LP) 2004–2007

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.