Commonwealth Electoral Division of Blair (Qld)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Blair AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Harold Blair AO 1924–76. A noted Australian tenor and Aboriginal activist.

Size & location description:

Blair covers an area of approximately 6 409 sq km west of Brisbane. Containing most of the City of Ipswich and all of the Somerset Regional Council. The division stretches from Riverview and Redbank Plains in the east to the boundary of the Ipswich City Council in the south and west, and the boundary of the Somerset Regional Council to the north. Main towns include Kilcoy, Toogoolawah, Esk, Cominya, Lowood, Fernvale, Ipswich, Minden, Marburg, Rosewood, and Walloon.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Dairy and beef cattle farming, small crop production, commercial, construction and infrastructure industries, tourism and defence.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Neumann, S (ALP) 2007–
  • Thompson, C (LP) 1998–2007

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.