Commonwealth Electoral Division of Fisher (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Fisher AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Andrew Fisher (1862–1928), Prime Minister of Australia 1908–09, 1910–13 and 1914–15.

Size & location description:

Fisher covers an area of 1 170 sq kms from part of Alexandra Headland in the north, west to Cambroon and Conondale, south to Beerburrum and east to the coast. Major towns and population centres include Caloundra, Sippy Downs, the coastal strip including Kawana, Minyama and Mooloolaba, Montville, Maleny, Beerwah, Beerburrum, Glass House Mountains and Landsborough.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Tourism, service industries and construction and development are the major employers. Other industries include education, pineapple, orchard and flower crops, dairy and beef cattle farming, and horse racing.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Slipper, P (LP) 1993–
  • Lavarch, M H (ALP) 1987–1993
  • Slipper, P N (NP) 1984–1987
  • Adermann, A E (CP/NCP) 1972–1984
  • Adermann, C F (CP) 1949–1972

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.