Commonwealth Electoral Division of Werriwa (NSW)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Werriwa AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal name for Lake George, which was located in the division in 1901.

Size & location description:

Werriwa covers an area of approximately 159 sq km from Austral, West Hoxton, Prestons, Lurnea and parts of Liverpool in the north, to Claymore and Minto Heights in the south, bounded by the Georges River to the east and generally by the Sydney Water Supply Channel, Raby Road, Rileys Creek, Anthony Road, Barry Avenue and Allenby Road to the west. The main suburbs include Austral, Bardia, Bow Bowing, Casula, Claymore, Denham Court, Edmondson Park, Eschol Park, Glenfield, Horningsea Park, Hoxton Park, Ingleburn, Leppington, Lurnea, Macquarie Fields, Minto, Minto Heights, Prestons, Raby, St Andrews, Varroville, and parts of Liverpool, Leumeah and West Hoxton.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

The main industries are light manufacturing.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Hayes, C (ALP) 2005–
  • Latham, M (ALP) 1994–2005
  • Kerin, J C (ALP) 1978–1993
  • Whitlam, E G (ALP) 1952–1978
  • Lazzarini, H P (ALP) 1934–1952
  • McNicoll, W R (CP) 1931–1934
  • Lazzarini, H P (ALP) 1919–1931
  • Lynch, J (ALP/NAT) 1914–1919
  • Conroy, A H (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Bennett, B H (ALP) 1912–1913
  • Hall, D R (ALP) 1906–1912
  • Conroy, A H (FT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.