Commonwealth Electoral Division of Watson (NSW)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Watson AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after John Watson (1867–1941), Prime Minister of Australia 27 April–12 August 1904.

Size & location description:

Watson covers an area of approximately 42 sq km from Strathfield in the north to Roselands in the south, Canterbury in the east and Mount Lewis in the west. The main suburbs include Belfield, Belmore, Burwood Heights, Campsie, Chullora, Clemton Park, Enfield, Greenacre, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Roselands, Strathfield South, Wiley Park and parts of Ashbury, Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Burwood, Canterbury, Croydon, Croydon Park, Earlwood, Kingsgrove, Narwee, Punchbowl, Riverwood and Strathfield.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Light manufacturing and service industries.

First proclaimed/election:

1992/1993 (Watson became a division in 1992 but was previously known as St George which became a division in 1948.)

Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Burke, T (ALP) 2004–
  • McLeay, L (ALP) 1993–2004

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.