Commonwealth Electoral Division of Throsby (NSW)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Throsby AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Dr Charles Throsby (1771–1828), a local pioneer who explored the area.

Size & location description:

Throsby covers an area of approximately 1 422 sq km and extends from Exeter, Lake Yarrunga and Upper Kangaroo Valley in the south to Aylmerton, Alpine, the Avon Dam, Lake Avon, Dombarton, and Kembla Grange in the north to the Pacific Ocean in the east at Port Kembla. The main localities include Albion Park, Berkeley, Berrima, Blackbutt, Bowral, Cringila, Dapto, Exeter, Fitzroy Falls, Horsley, Kembla Grange, Lake Illawarra, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Oak Flats, Port Kembla, Robertson, Warrawong, Welby, Willow Vale, and parts of Warilla.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Steel works, mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, transport, dairy farming and retail industries.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • George, J (ALP) 2001–
  • Hollis, C (ALP) 1984–2001

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.