Commonwealth Electoral Division of Shortland (NSW)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Shortland AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Naval Lieutenant John Shortland (1769–1810) who discovered coal near Shortland.

Size & location description:

Shortland covers an area of approximately 205 sq km from Highfields and Kotara South in the north to Budgewoi and Lake Haven in the south and is bounded on the east by the Pacific Ocean and on the west by the Newcastle bypass, Hillsborough Road, King Street, the eastern shoreline of Lake Macquarie, Wyee Road, the Pacific Highway, Wallarah Rd, the southern shoreline of Budgewoi Lake, the Budgewoi/Toukley locality boundary, Budgewoi Road and Werepi Street. The main suburbs include Belmont, Budgewoi, Catherine Hill Bay, Caves Beach, Chain Valley Bay, Charlestown, Dudley, Eleebana, Floraville, Gateshead, Gwandalan, Halekulani, Highfields, Jewells, Kahibah, Kotara South, Lake Haven, Lake Munmorah, Mannering Park, Nords Wharf, Redhead, San Remo, Summerland Point, Swansea, Tingira Heights, Valentine, Whitebridge, Windale and parts of Doyalson, Gorokan, Hillsborough and Warners Bay.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Coal mining, tourism, fishing, power stations, building industry and poultry farming.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Hall, J (ALP) 1998–
  • Morris, P (ALP) 1972–1998
  • Griffiths, C E (ALP) 1949–1972

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.