Commonwealth Electoral Division of Richmond (NSW)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Richmond AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Size & location description:

Richmond covers an area of approximately 2 768 sq km from the New South Wales/Queensland border in the north to Lennox Head and Skennars Head in the south. The main towns include Bangalow, Brunswick Heads, Byron Bay, Kingscliff, Lennox Head, Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Nimbin, Ocean Shores, Pottsville, Suffolk Park and Tweed Heads.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Tourism, commercial fishing, agriculture including dairy, beef cattle, tropical fruits, sugarcane, coffee and macadamia nuts, sugar processing, timber, light engineering, boat building and cottage industries.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Elliot, J (ALP) 2004–
  • Anthony, L (NP) 1996–2004
  • Newell, N J (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Blunt, C W (NP) 1984–1990
  • Anthony, J D (CP/NCP/NP) 1957–1984
  • Anthony, H L (CP) 1937–1957
  • Green, R F (CP) 1922–1937
  • Massey-Greene, W (LIB/NAT) 1910–1922
  • Ewing, T T (PROT) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.