Commonwealth Electoral Division of Mitchell (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Mitchell AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir Thomas Mitchell (1792–1855), a noted Australian explorer and surveyor.

Size & location description:

Mitchell covers an area of approximately 101 sq km from Maraylya and Box Hill in the northwest to Baulkham Hills and North Rocks in the southeast. The main suburbs include Annangrove, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Glenhaven, Kellyville, Nelson and parts of Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Dural, Kenthurst, Maraylya, Northmead, North Rocks, Round Corner, Rouse Hill and West Pennant Hills.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Commercial and business services, light industry, education and retail.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Hawke, A (LP) 2007–
  • Cadman, A (LP) 1974–2007
  • Ashley-Brown, A (ALP) 1972–1974
  • Irwin, L H (LP) 1963–1972
  • Armitage, J L (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Wheeler, R C (LP) 1949–1961

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.