Commonwealth Electoral Division of Macquarie (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Macquarie AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Governor Lachlan Macquarie (1761–1824), Governor of New South Wales 1810–21.

Size & location description:

Macquarie covers an area of approximately 4374 sq km from the Hawkesbury and Nepean Rivers in the east the Blue Mountains City Council border in the west. The Wollemi and Yengo National Parks form the northern border and the Coxs River, Lake Burragorang and Warragamba River form the southern border. The Division encompasses the Blue Mountains City Council and Hawkesbury City Council areas. Suburbs and towns include: Blackheath, Blaxland, Bligh Park, Glenbrook, Katoomba, McGraths Hill, North Richmond, Pitt Town, Richmond, Springwood and Windsor.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Tourism, mixed farming, arts and crafts, horse breeding and training, printing and publishing, small manufacturing, higher education with the University of Western Sydney Richmond Campus. Macquarie is also home to the Glenbrook and Richmond RAAF bases.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Debus, R (ALP) 2007–
  • Bartlett, K (LP) 1996–2007
  • Deahm, M J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Webster, A (LP) 1984–1993
  • Free, R V (ALP) 1980–1984
  • Gillard, R (LP) 1975–1980
  • Luchetti, A S (ALP) 1951–1975
  • Chifley, J B (ALP) 1940–1951
  • Lawson, J N (UAP) 1931–1940
  • Chifley, J B (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Manning, A G (NAT) 1922–1928
  • Nicholls, S R (ALP) 1917–1922
  • Carr, E S (ALP) 1906–1917
  • Smith, S (FT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.