Commonwealth Electoral Division of Lyne (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Lyne AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir William Lyne (1844–1913), Premier of New South Wales 1899–1901.

Size & location description:

Lyne covers an area of approximately 11 991 sq km from Crescent Head in the north to the southern boundaries of Greater Taree City Council & Gloucester Council in the south and inland to the western boundaries of Greater Taree, Port Macquarie – Hastings and Kempsey Shire Councils. The main towns include Bonny Hills, Crescent Head, Gloucester, Harrington, Kendall, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, North Haven, Old Bar, Port Macquarie, Taree, Wauchope and Wingham.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering, mining and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Oakeshott, R (Ind) 2008–
  • Vaile, M (NP) 1993–2008
  • Cowan, D B (NCP/NP) 1980–1993
  • Lucock, P E (CP/NCP) 1952–1980
  • Eggins, E J (CP) 1949–1952

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.