Commonwealth Electoral Division of Kingsford Smith (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:

Kingsford Smith


New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Kingsford Smith AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Kingsford-Smith (1897–1935), Australia's most famous aviator.

Size & location description:

Kingsford Smith covers an area of approximately 127 sq km from La Perouse in the south to Randwick and Coogee in the north. The main suburbs include Banksmeadow, Botany, Chifley, Clovelly (part), Coogee, Daceyville, Eastgardens, Eastlakes, Hillsdale, Kensington, Kingsford, La Perouse, Little Bay, Malabar, Maroubra, Maroubra Junction, Mascot, Matraville, Pagewood, Phillip Bay, Port Botany, Randwick (part), Rosebery (part) and South Coogee.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Shipping, paper manufacturing, light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Garrett, P (ALP) 2004–
  • Brereton, L (ALP) 1990–2004
  • Bowen, L F (ALP) 1969–1990
  • Curtin, D J (ALP) 1955–1969
  • Anderson, G (ALP) 1949–1955

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.