Commonwealth Electoral Division of Grayndler (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Grayndler AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Edward Grayndler (1867–1943), a Member of the New South Wales Legislative Council 1921–34 and 1936–43. He was also appointed General Secretary of the Australian Workers' Union in 1912.

Size & location description:

Grayndler covers an area of approximately 32 sq km in the inner-southern Sydney metropolitan area. The main suburbs include Ashfield, Dulwich Hill, Enmore, Haberfield, Hurlstone Park, Leichhardt, Lewisham, Lilyfield, Marrickville, Petersham, Stanmore, Summer Hill, Sydenham, Tempe and parts of Annandale, Ashbury, Camperdown, Canterbury, Newtown, and St Peters.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Manufacturing and service industries, engineering works.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Albanese, A (ALP) 1996–
  • McHugh, J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • McLeay, L B (ALP) 1979–1993
  • Stewart, F E (ALP) 1977–1979
  • Whitlam, A P (ALP) 1975–1977
  • Daly, F M (ALP) 1949–1975

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.