Commonwealth Electoral Division of Gilmore (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Gilmore AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Dame Mary Gilmore (1865–1962), a well known poet, author and journalist.

Size & location description:

Gilmore covers an area of approximately 4 878 sq km along the coast from Warilla in the north to Durras in the South, then west including much of the, Budawang and Morton National Parks. Towns and suburbs include Berry, Bomaderry, Gerringong, Kangaroo Valley, Kiama, Milton, Minnamurra, Nowra, Shellharbour, Shell Cove, Sussex Inlet, Ulladulla and Warilla.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Tourism, timber, dairy and beef cattle, paper mill, brickworks, light engineering, dairy products, steel fabrication and fishing.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Gash, J (LP) 1996–
  • Knott, P J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Sharp, J R (NP) 1984–1993

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.