Commonwealth Electoral Division of Fowler (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Fowler AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Lilian Fowler (1887–1954), first woman alderman in New South Wales 1929–48 and first woman mayor in Australia 1938–39, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1944–50.

Size & location description:

Fowler covers an area of approximately 69 sq km extending from Lansvale and Canley Vale in the east to Cecil Park in the west. Bounded in the southeast by Georges River and Cabramatta Creek, the southern boundary extends south along Cumberland Highway and Hume Highway into Liverpool and west along Hoxton Park Road under the M7 Motorway at Hinchinbrook to Cowpasture Road. Here the Road name changes to Fifteenth Avenue and extends out to Kemps Creek. The Western boundary follows Kemps Creek north to Elizabeth Drive. The Northern Boundary follows Elizabeth Drive east under the M7 Motorway back to Cowpasture Road. Here the boundary turns north on Cowpasture Road to Edensor Park Road through Edensor Park to Smithfield Road. The boundary follows Smithfield Road up to Orphan School Creek. Orphan School Creek creates the Northern boundary through Wakeley, Canley Heights and Canley Vale until it meets the Georges River at Lansvale. Suburbs include: Ashcroft, Austral, Bonnyrigg, Bonnyrigg Heights, Busby, Cabramatta, Cabramatta West, Canley Heights, Canley Vale, Cartwright, Cecil Hills, Cecil Park, Edensor Park, Green Valley, Greenfield Park, Heckenberg, Hinchinbrook, Lansvale, Liverpool, Middleton Grange, Miller, Mount Pritchard, Prairiewood, Sadleir, St Johns Park, Wakeley and West Hoxton.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

The main industries are horticulture, mixed farming and market gardens, light manufacturing, retail and service industries.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Irwin, J (ALP) 1998–
  • Grace, T (ALP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.