Commonwealth Electoral Division of Cunningham (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Cunningham AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Allan Cunningham (1791–1839), an early Australian explorer.

Size & location description:

Cunningham covers an area of approximately 721 sq km. The southern boundary of Cunningham is Five Islands Rd, the Princes Hwy at Unanderra, and the Moss Vale Unanderra Railway Line. The northern boundary is the Hacking River, Farnell Ave and Heathcote Rd. The western boundary is the same as the Wollongong City Council western boundary. The main suburbs include Austinmer, Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Bundeena, Clifton, Coalcliff, Coledale, Coniston, Cordeaux Heights, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Figtree, Gwynneville, Heathcote, Helensburgh, Keiraville, Maianbar, Mangerton, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Mount Ousley, Mount Saint Thomas, Otford, Russell Vale, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Tarrawanna, most of The Royal National Park, Thirroul, Towradgi, Waterfall, West Wollongong, Wollongong, Wombarra, Woonona and part of Unanderra.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Wollongong is the commercial centre of the Illawarra, servicing tourism, tertiary education, steel production, coal mining, brick manufacturing and textiles.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Bird, S (ALP) 2004–
  • Organ, M (GRN) 2002–2004
  • Martin, S (ALP) 1993–2002
  • West, S J (ALP) 1977–1993
  • Connor, R F X (ALP) 1963–1977
  • Kearney, V D (ALP) 1956–1963
  • Davies, W (ALP) 1949–1956

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.