Commonwealth Electoral Division of Cowper (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Cowper AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Cowper (1807–75), Premier of New South Wales 25 August–2 October 1856.

Size & location description:

Cowper covers an area of approximately 7 861 sq km from Kempsey in the south to Maclean in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Dorrigo, Kempsey, Maclean, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Urunga and Woolgoolga.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Fishing, forestry, agriculture, bananas, dairy cattle and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Hartsuyker, L (NP) 2001–
  • Nehl, G (NP) 1984–2001
  • Robinson, I L (CP/NCP) 1963–1984
  • McGuren, F W (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Page, E C G (FSU/CP) 1919–1961
  • Thomson, J (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • Lee, H W (FT) 1903–1906
  • Clarke, F (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.