Commonwealth Electoral Division of Chifley (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Chifley AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Ben Chifley (1885–1951), Prime Minister of Australia 1945–49.

Size & location description:

Chifley covers an area of approximately 135 sq km. Suburbs include; Arndell Park, Bidwill, Blackett, Colebee, Dean Park, Dharruk, Doonside, Emerton, Glendenning, Hassall Grove, Hebersham, Huntingwood, Lethbridge Park, Marayong, Minchinbury, Mount Druitt, Oakhurst, Plumpton, Rooty Hill, Ropes Crossing, Shalvey, Shanes Park, Tregear, Whalan, Willmot, Woodcroft and parts of Eastern Creek, Blacktown, Quakers Hill, Schofields and Riverstone.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Light manufacturing and service industries.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Price, R (ALP) 1984–
  • Gorman, R N J (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Armitage, J L (ALP) 1969–1983

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.