Commonwealth Electoral Division of Berowra (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Berowra AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Size & location description:

Berowra covers an area of approximately 782 sq km from Brooklyn and the Hawkesbury River in the north, to Pennant Hills and Beecroft in the south west, the Pacific Highway and the Sydney to Newcastle Freeway, Cockle and Cowan Creeks in the east, Hawkesbury River, Cattai Creek, Boundary Road, McGuires Road and Citadel Creek in the west. Suburbs include Arcadia, Berowra, Brooklyn, Cheltenham, Cherrybrook, Cowan, Dangar Island, Galston, Glenorie, Maroota, Middle Dural, Mount Kuring-gai, Normanhurst, Pennant Hills, Sackville North, Thornleigh, Westleigh and parts of Asquith, Beecroft, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Cattai, Dural, Hornsby, Lower Portland, Maraylya, Mount Colah, Wahroonga, Waitara, West Pennant Hills and Wisemans Ferry.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Fishing and oyster farming from the Hawkesbury River area. Retail, service and various small industries including hobby farming, citrus fruit orchards, poultry farming, horticulture, and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Ruddock, P (LP) 1993–
  • Edwards, H A (LP) 1972–1993
  • Hughes, T E F (LP) 1969–1972

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.