Commonwealth Electoral Division of Bennelong (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Bennelong AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal man whom Governor Phillip befriended in 1789.

Size & location description:

Bennelong covers an area of approximately 58 sq km from Roselea and Melrose Park in the west, bounded by the Parramatta River in the south and Victoria Road, Pittwater Road and the Lane Cove River in the east, with the Lane Cove River, Devlins Creek and the Hills Motorway providing the northern boundary. Suburbs include Denistone, Epping, East Ryde, Eastwood, Macquarie Park, Marsfield, Meadowbank, Melrose Park, Putney, North Ryde, Ryde, West Ryde and parts of Carlingford, Ermington and Gladesville.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • McKew, M (ALP) 2007–
  • Howard, J (LP) 1974–2007
  • Cramer, J O (LP) 1949–1974

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.