2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Ryan

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Thomas Ryan 1876–1921, Premier of Queensland 1915–19.

Area and Location Description:

Ryan covers an area of approximately 415 sq km mainly on the south-western side of the City of Brisbane. The greater part of the division is located north of the Brisbane River with a small part extending south of the river on the western side of the Centenary Hwy. The main suburbs and localities include Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, the western 'Centenary' suburbs, Indooroopilly, Karana Downs, Kenmore, St Lucia, Taringa and parts of Auchenflower, Bardon, Lake Manchester, The Gap and Toowong.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities. The University of Queensland with some 26 000 students is located on the Brisbane River at St Lucia, while all of Brisbane's television transmitters are on Mount Coot-tha which dominates the landscape of the division. The suburb of Sumner is partially devoted to light industry. By way of contrast, some farming still occurs in the outlying suburbs and the division also includes a large portion of Brisbane Forest Park.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Johnson, M (LP) 2001–
  • Short, L (ALP) 2001–2001
  • Moore, J (LP) 1975–2001
  • Drury, E N (LP) 1949–1975

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Ryan

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.