2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Riverina

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

Riverina covers an area of approximately 42 201 sq km. The division is located in the south west of NSW and extends from Adjungbilly and Tumorrama in the east to Carrathool and Gunbar in the west and from Goolgowi, Naradhan and Ungarie in the north to Coleambally, Corobimilla and Uranquinty in the south. The rural cities of Wagga Wagga and Griffith are the largest centres. Towns include Coleambally, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Gundagai, Junee, Leeton, Narrandera, Stockinbingal, Tarcutta, Temora and West Wyalong.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops. Fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goat farming. Food processing, fruit, grapes and wine making. Flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, brick kiln, saw milling, joinery, plaster works and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1901 (From 1984 to 1991 the division was known as Riverina-Darling.)

Demographic Rating:



  • Hull, K (NP) 1998–
  • Hicks, N J (NCP/NP) 1980–1998
  • Fitzpatrick, J (ALP) 1977–1980
  • Sullivan, J W (CP/NCP) 1974–1977
  • Grassby, A J (ALP) 1969–1974
  • Armstrong, A A (CP) 1965–1969
  • Roberton, H S (CP) 1949–1965
  • Langtry, J I (ALP) 1940–1949
  • Nock, H K (CP) 1931–1940
  • Killen, W W (CP) 1922–1931
  • Chanter, J M (NAT & FARMERS) 1914–1922
  • Falkiner, F B S (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Chanter, J M (PROT/ALP) 1904–1913
  • Blackwood, R O (FT) 1903–904
  • Chanter, J M (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Riverina

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.