2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Parramatta

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.

Area and Location Description:

Parramatta covers an area of approximately 63 sq km from Carlingford and Dundas Valley in the east to Kings Langley, Lalor Park and Seven Hills in the west. The main suburbs include Constitution Hill, Dundas Valley, Girraween, Kings Langley, Lalor Park, North Parramatta, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta CBD, Pendle Hill, Seven Hills, Telopea, Toongabbie and parts of Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Carlingford, Dundas, North Rocks, Northmead, Parramatta, Prospect, Wentworthville, Westmead and Winston Hills.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Owens, J (ALP) 2004–
  • Cameron, R (LP) 1996–2004
  • Elliott, R P (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Brown, J J (ALP) 1977–1990
  • Ruddock, P M (LP) 1973–1977
  • Bowen, N H (LP) 1964–1973
  • Barwick, G E (LP) 1958–1964
  • Beale, O H (LP) 1946–1958
  • Stewart, F H (UAP) 1931–1946
  • Rowe, A E (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Bowden, E K (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Pratten, H E (NAT) 1921–1922
  • Cook, J (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1901–1921

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Parramatta

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.