2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Parkes

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Henry Parkes 1815–96, former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.

Area and Location Description:

Parkes covers an area of approximately 107 108 sq km from the Queensland border in the north to Kandos, Ilford and Euchareena in the south, from Warialda, Gunnedah and Olinda in the east to Dubbo, Quambone and Lightning Ridge in the west. The main towns include Baradine, Binnaway, Boggabilla, Boggabri, Collarenebri, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Dubbo, Dunedoo, Gilgandra, Gulgong, Gunnedah, Kandos, Lightning Ridge, Mendooran, Moree, Mudgee, Mungindi, Narrabri, Walgett, Warialda, Wee Waa and Wellington.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, comprehensive agricultural support services, coal and opal mining, timber, wine growing, light engineering and construction industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)

Demographic Rating:



  • Coulton, M (NP) 2007–
  • Cobb, J (NP) 2001–2007
  • Lawler, A (NP) 1998–2001
  • Cobb, M (NP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Parkes

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.