2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Mitchell

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Thomas Mitchell 1792–1855, a noted Australian explorer and surveyor.

Area and Location Description:

Mitchell covers an area of approximately 129 sq km from Maraylya and Box Hill in the northwest to Baulkham Hills and North Rocks in the southeast. The main suburbs include Annangrove, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Glenhaven, Kellyville, Nelson and parts of Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Dural, Kenthurst, Maraylya, Northmead, North Rocks, Round Corner, Rouse Hill and West Pennant Hills.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Scattered light industry and market gardens, flowers, poultry, orchards and intensive cultivation.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Hawke, A (LP) 2007–
  • Cadman, A (LP) 1974–2007
  • Ashley-Brown, A (ALP) 1972–1974
  • Irwin, L H (LP) 1963–1972
  • Armitage, J L (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Wheeler, R C (LP) 1949–1961

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Mitchell

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.