2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Macquarie

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Governor Lachlan Macquarie 1761–1824, Governor of New South Wales 1810–21.

Area and Location Description:

Macquarie covers an area of approximately 12 084 sq km from Glenbrook in the east, the eastern and northern boundaries of the Lithgow City Council local government area in the north, Bathurst in the west and the Abercrombie, Kowmung and Coxs rivers generally in the south. The main towns include Bathurst, Blackheath, Katoomba, Lithgow, Mount Victoria, Oberon, Portland, Springwood, and Wentworth Falls.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism, coal and gold mining, power generation, cement works, fruit growing, timber, vineyards, wool processing, transport, whitegoods manufacturing, agriculture and pastoral.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Debus, R (ALP) 2007–
  • Bartlett, K (LP) 1996–2007
  • Deahm, M J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Webster, A (LP) 1984–1993
  • Free, R V (ALP) 1980–1984
  • Gillard, R (LP) 1975–1980
  • Luchetti, A S (ALP) 1951–1975
  • Chifley, J B (ALP) 1940–1951
  • Lawson, J N (UAP) 1931–1940
  • Chifley, J B (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Manning, A G (NAT) 1922–1928
  • Nicholls, S R (ALP) 1917–1922
  • Carr, E S (ALP) 1906–1917
  • Smith, S (FT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Macquarie

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.