2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Lyne

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir William Lyne 1844–1913, Premier of New South Wales 1899–1901.

Area and Location Description:

Lyne covers an area of approximately 9 039 sq km from Crescent Head in the north to the southern boundary of Greater Taree City Council in the south and inland to the western boundaries of Greater Taree, Port Macquarie – Hastings and Kempsey Shire Councils. The main towns include Bonny Hills, Crescent Head, Harrington, Kendall, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, North Haven, Old Bar, Port Macquarie, Taree, Wauchope and Wingham.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Vaile, M (NP) 1993–
  • Cowan, D B (NCP/NP) 1980–1993
  • Lucock, P E (CP/NCP) 1952–1980
  • Eggins, E J (CP) 1949–1952

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Lyne

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.