2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Hunter

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after John Hunter 1737–1821, second Governor of New South Wales 1795–99.

Area and Location Description:

Hunter covers an area of approximately 18 604 sq km from Maitland in the east to Cassilis in the west, Murrurundi in the north and south to Wollombi. The main towns include Aberdeen, Branxton, Cessnock, Denman, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Merriwa, Murrurundi, Muswellbrook, Scone and Singleton.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Agriculture, aluminium smelting, coal-mining, dairy farming, engineering, farming, forestry, fruit and vegetables, horse studs and racing, timber milling, tourism, wine grapes, wineries and wool. Liddell Power Station and Bays Water Power Station are also in the division.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996–
  • Fitzgibbon, E J (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Brown, R J (ALP) 1980–1984
  • James, A W (ALP) 1960–1980
  • Evatt, H V (ALP) 1958–1960
  • James, R (ALP) 1928–1958
  • Charlton, M (ALP) 1910–1928
  • Liddell, F (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903–1910
  • Barton, E (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Hunter

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.