2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Hume

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Hamilton Hume 1797–1873, an early explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Hume covers an area of approximately 26 302 sq km from Crookwell, Tahmoor, Thirlmere and Lake Burragorang in the north to Wee Jasper in the south and from the Southern Highlands in the east to Young in the west. Towns include Bargo, Berrima, Binalong, Boorowa, Bowral, Bundanoon, Fitzroy Falls, Crookwell, Gundaroo, Gunning, Harden/Murrumburrah, Jugiong, Marulan, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Murrumbateman, Robertson, Sutton, Tahmoor, Tarago, Thirlmere, Yass, Young and the City of Goulburn.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mixed farming, grazing, fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, wine, timber and textiles. The area is noted for its fine wool with Goulburn being the home of the Big Merino. Young is famous as the cherry capital of New South Wales and the Southern Highlands along with other areas in the division generate important tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Schultz, A (LP) 1998–
  • Sharp, J (NP) 1993–1998
  • Fife, W C (LP) 1984–1993
  • Lusher, S A (CP/NCP/NP) 1974–1984
  • Olley, F (ALP) 1972–1974
  • Pettitt, J A (CP) 1963–1972
  • Fuller, A N (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Anderson, C G W (CP) 1955–1961
  • Fuller, A N (ALP) 1951–1955
  • Anderson, C G W (CP) 1949–1951
  • Fuller, A N (ALP) 1943–1949
  • Collins, T J (CP) 1931–1943
  • Moloney, P J (ALP) 1919–1931
  • Falkiner, F B S (NAT) 1917–1919
  • Patten, R (LIB) 1913–1917
  • Lyne, W J (PROT/IND) 1901–1913

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Hume

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.