2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Groom

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Littleton Groom 1867–1936, Member of the House of Representatives 1901–29, 1931–36. Speaker of the House of Representatives 1926–29.

Area and Location Description:

Groom covers an area of 5 585 sq km and is located in the Darling Downs region of southeast Queensland. The major population centre is Toowoomba, which is Australia's largest inland town. Other towns include Cambooya, Goombungee, Greenmount, Highfields, Jondaryan, Oakey, Pittsworth and Wyreema.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

This area is noted for its rich and diverse range of products and industries including agriculture, retailing and food processing as well as for the provision of educational and community services. Toowoomba is known throughout Australia as the Garden City and is generally considered to be one of the most attractive places to live in Australia. The University of Southern Queensland is located in Toowoomba while the Army Aviation Centre is based at Oakey.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Macfarlane, I (LP) 1998–
  • Taylor, W (LP) 1988–1998
  • McVeigh, T (NP) 1984–1988

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Groom

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.