2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Gellibrand

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Joseph Gellibrand 1786–1836, lawyer and explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Gellibrand covers an area of approximately 91 sq km from Maribyrnong in the north to Williamstown on Port Phillip Bay in the south, from the Maribyrnong River in the east, along Port Phillip Bay to Point Cook (Seabrook) in the west. The main suburbs include Altona, Altona Meadows, Altona North, Braybrook, Brooklyn (part), Footscray, Footscray West, Kingsville, Maidstone, Maribyrnong (part), Newport, Seabrook, Seaholme, South Kingsville, Spotswood, Tottenham, Yarraville and Williamstown.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Food processing, petrochemical and carbon products, one of Australia's largest marine engineering facilities, transport facilities, warehousing. Other industries include tourism and leisure in the historic precincts and along the bay, tertiary education sector, student accommodation, industrial and commercial parks and retail sector including strip shopping centres and major shopping hubs including homemaker centres.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Roxon, N (ALP) 1998–
  • Willis, R (ALP) 1972–1998
  • McIvor, H J (ALP) 1955–1972
  • Mullens, J M (ALP) 1949–1955

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Gellibrand

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.