2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Flynn

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Reverend John Flynn 1880–1951, founder of the Royal Flying Doctor Service.

Area and Location Description:

Flynn covers an area of approximately 314 305 sq km including the City of Gladstone and the Shires of Aramac, Banana, Barcaldine, Bauhinia, Blackall, Calliope, Duaringa, Eidsvold, Emerald, Gayndah, Ilfracombe, Isisford, Jericho, Kolan, Longreach, Miriam Vale, Monto, Mundubbera, Peak Downs, Perry, Tambo, Taroom, Winton, Wondai, Woorabinda and parts of Burnett and Fitzroy. Main towns include Agnes Water, Alpha, Aramac, Banana, Barcaldine, Biloela, Blackall, Blackwater, Boyne Island, Calliope, Duaringa, Eidsvold, Emerald, Gayndah, Gladstone, Ilfracombe, Isisford, Jericho, Longreach, Miriam Vale, Monto, Moura, Mundubbera, Muttaburra, Peak Downs, Perry, Sapphire, Tambo, Tannum Sands, Taroom, Theodore, Winton and Wondai.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain, cattle and sheep. The Port of Gladstone is a major export facility for the area.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Trevor, C (ALP) 2007–

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Flynn

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.