2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Fisher

Updated: 16 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Andrew Fisher 1862–1928, Prime Minister of Australia 1908–09, 1910–13 and 1914–15.

Area and Location Description:

Fisher covers an area of approximately 3 322 sq km from Jimna, Conondale, Maleny, Mooloolah Valley and part of Alexandra Headland in the north, to Mount Mee, Upper Caboolture, part of Narangba and Elimbah in the south, and from Caloundra in the east to Kilcoy in the west. Towns include Beerburrum, Beerwah, Caloundra, Conondale, D'Aguilar, Elimbah, Glass House Mountains, Jimna, Kilcoy, Landsborough, Maleny, Mooloolaba, Mooloolah Valley, Peachester, Wamuran and Woodford.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism, service industries and construction are the major employers. Other industries include fishing, pineapples, orchard crops, dairy and beef cattle, horses, poultry and flowers.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Slipper, P (LP) 1993–
  • Lavarch, M H (ALP) 1987–1993
  • Slipper, P N (NP) 1984–1987
  • Adermann, A E (CP/NCP) 1972–1984
  • Adermann, C F (CP) 1949–1972

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Fisher

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.