2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Dawson

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Andrew (Anderson) Dawson 1863–1910, Queensland's first Labor Premier 1899.

Area and Location Description:

Dawson covers an area of approximately 18 052 sq km from Mackay, Bakers Creek and Walkerston in the south to Oonoonba and the Ross River in the north and also includes the Whitsunday Group and the Lindeman Group Islands. Main towns include Airlie Beach, Ayr, Bowen, Home Hill, Proserpine and Walkerston as well as the City of Mackay.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Various small crops, prawn and fish farms, sugar growing and refining, beef cattle, coal mining related industries, abattoirs and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Bidgood, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Kelly, D (NP) 1996–2007
  • Braithwaite, R A (NP) 1975–1996
  • Patterson, R A (ALP) 1966–1975
  • Shaw, G W (CP) 1963–1966
  • Davidson, C W (CP) 1949–1963

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Dawson

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.