2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Cowper

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Cowper 1807–75, Premier of New South Wales 25 August–2 October 1856.

Area and Location Description:

Cowper covers an area of approximately 7 911 sq km from Kempsey in the south to Maclean in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Dorrigo, Kempsey, Maclean, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Urunga and Woolgoolga.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Fishing, forestry, agriculture, bananas, dairy cattle and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Hartsuyker, L (NP) 2001–
  • Nehl, G (NP) 1984–2001
  • Robinson, I L (CP/NCP) 1963–1984
  • McGuren, F W (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Page, E C G (FSU/CP) 1919–1961
  • Thomson, J (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • Lee, H W (FT) 1903–1906
  • Clarke, F (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Cowper

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.