2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Chifley

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Ben Chifley 1885–1951, Prime Minister of Australia 1945–49.

Area and Location Description:

Chifley covers an area of approximately 76 sq km. Suburbs include Arndell Park, Bidwill, Blackett, Dharruk, Dean Park, Doonside, Emerton, Glendenning, Hassall Grove, Hebersham, Lethbridge Park, Mount Druitt, Oakhurst, Plumpton, Rooty Hill, Ropes Crossing, Shalvey, Tregear, Whalan, Willmot, Woodcroft and parts of Blacktown, Eastern Creek, Marayong and Shanes Park.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing and service industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Price, R (ALP) 1984–
  • Gorman, R N J (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Armitage, J L (ALP) 1969–1983

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Chifley

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.