Profile of the Electoral Division of Aston (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Tilly Aston 1873–1947, blind writer and teacher who helped found the library of the Victorian Association of Braille Writers in 1894.

Area and Location Description:

Aston covers an area of approximately 96 sq km from Bayswater in the north to Rowville in the south, from Ferntree Gully in the east to Vermont South in the west. The suburbs of Bayswater (part), Boronia (part), Ferntree Gully (part), Forest Hill (part), Knoxfield, Lysterfield (part), Mountain Gate (part), Rowville, Scoresby, Studfield, Vermont (part), Vermont South, Wantirna and Wantirna South are in this division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Market gardens, orchards, light industry, food manufacturing and chemical production.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Pearce, C (LP) 2001–
  • Nugent, P E (LP) 1990–2001
  • Saunderson, J (ALP) 1984–1990

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Aston

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.