2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Wide Bay

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the district which takes its name from the bay sighted by Captain Cook on 18 May 1770.

Area and Location Description:

Wide Bay covers an area of approximately 12 428 sq km from Weyba Downs and Peregian Beach in the SE; from Fraser Island in the NE; from Booubyjan in the NW to the township of Cherbourg in the SW and Bella Creek in the south. Major population centres are Maryborough, Noosa Heads and Gympie. The World Heritage listed Fraser Island (the world's largest sand island) is located in the Division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Eco-tourism (Fraser Island), whale watching, historical attractions (Maryborough), natural attractions (Cooloola Coast) timber, dairying, grain, grazing, sugar, tropical fruit orchards, and railway rolling stock (including Queensland's 'tilt' trains).

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Truss, W (NP) 1990–
  • Millar, P C (CP/NCP/NP) 1974–1990
  • Hansen, B P (ALP) 1961–1974
  • Bandidt, H N C (CP) 1958–1961
  • Brand, W A (CP) 1954–1958
  • Corser, B H (CP) 1928–1954
  • Corser, E B C (LIB/NAT) 1915–1928
  • Fisher, A (ALP) 1901–1915

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Wide Bay

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.