2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of North Sydney

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

North Sydney covers an area of approximately 38 sq km from Sydney Harbour in the south to North Willoughby in the north and from Middle Harbour, Cremorne and Cremorne Point in the east to Tarban, Hunters Hill and Lane Cove West in the west. Suburbs include Artarmon, Cammeray, Cremorne, Cremorne Point, Crows Nest, Gore Hill, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Point, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, Lane Cove West, Lavender Bay, Linley Point, Longueville, McMahons Point, Milsons Point, Naremburn, Neutral Bay, Northbridge, North Sydney, Northwood, Riverview, St Leonards, Tarban, Waverton, Willoughby East, Wollstonecraft, Woolwich and parts of Castlecrag, Gladesville, Lane Cove North, North Willoughby and Willoughby.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

North Sydney is the third largest business centre in Australia. It contains communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Hockey, J (LP) 1996–
  • Mack, E C (IND) 1990–1996
  • Spender, J M (LP) 1980–1990
  • Graham, B W (LP) 1966–1980
  • Jack, W M (LP) 1949–1966
  • Hughes, W M (NAT/IND/NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1949
  • Ryrie, G (LIB/NAT) 1911–1922
  • Edwards, G B (LIB) 1910–1911
  • Thompson, D (FT) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for North Sydney

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.