2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Eden-Monaro

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

Eden-Monaro covers an area of approximately 37 619 sq km from Queanbeyan, Bungendore, Braidwood and Mossy Point in the north, south to the Victorian border, west to Tumbarumba and Adelong, extending to the western, southern and eastern borders of the Australian Capital Territory. Towns include Adaminaby, Adelong, Batlow, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Cabramurra, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalgety, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Khancoban, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Nerriga, Nimmitabel, Pambula, Queanbeyan, Talbingo, Tathra and Tumbarumba.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming. The Snowy Mountains hydroelectric scheme, snowfields and tourism are important industries for this division.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Kelly, M (ALP) 2007–
  • Nairn, G (LP) 1996–2007
  • Snow, J H J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Sainsbury, M E (LP) 1975–1983
  • Whan, R B (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Munro, D R (LP) 1966–1969
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1943–1966
  • Perkins, J A (UAP) 1931–1943
  • Cusack, J J (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Perkins, J A (NAT) 1926–1929
  • Chapman, A (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–1926

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Eden-Monaro

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.