2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Calare

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal name for the Lachlan River.

Area and Location Description:

Calare covers an area of approximately 237 325 sq km from Wattle Flat in the east to the Paroo River, White Cliffs, Wilcannia and Sayers Lake in the west, the New South Wales Queensland border in the north to the Shires of Blayney, Cowra, Weddin, Forbes, Lachlan and parts of Carrathool and Central Darling Shires in the south. The main towns include Blayney, Bourke, Brewarrina, Canowindra, Cobar, Condobolin, Cowra, Forbes, Grenfell, Hillston, Ivanhoe, Lake Cargelligo, Molong, Narromine, Nyngan, Orange, Parkes, Trangie, Warren, White Cliffs, Wilcannia and Yeoval.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mining, mixed farming, fruit, timber, vineyards, meat and wool processing, transport, light engineering, agricultural and pastoral support services.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Cobb, J (NP) 2007–
  • Andren, P (IND) 1996–2007
  • Simmons, D W (ALP) 1983–1996
  • MacKenzie, A J (NCP/NP) 1975–1983
  • England, J A (CP/NCP) 1960–1975
  • Howse, J B (LP) 1946–1960
  • Breen, J P (ALP) 1940–1946
  • Thorby, H V (CP) 1931–1940
  • Gibbons, G A (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Howse, N R (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Lavelle, T J (ALP) 1919-–1922
  • Pigott, H R M (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
  • Brown, T (ALP) 1906–1913

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Calare

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.