2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Bowman

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after David Bowman 1860–1916, a Member of the Queensland Parliament 1904–16.

Area and Location Description:

Bowman covers an area of approximately 560 sq km from Thorneside in the north to Carbrook in the south and includes the islands of Coochiemudlo, Lamb, Macleay, Russell and North Stradbroke. The main suburbs include Alexandra Hills, Birkdale, Capalaba, Carbrook, Cleveland, Mount Cotton, Ormiston, Redland Bay, Sheldon, Thorneside, Thornlands, Victoria Point and Wellington Point.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mostly residential with some crops, poultry, various light industries and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Laming, A (LP) 2004–
  • Sciacca, C (ALP) 1998–2004
  • West, A (LP) 1996–1998
  • Sciacca, C A (ALP) 1987–1996
  • Keogh, L J (ALP) 1983–1987
  • Jull, D F (LP) 1975–1983
  • Keogh, L J (ALP) 1969–1975
  • Gibbs, W T (LP) 1963–1969
  • Comber, J (ALP) 1961–1963
  • McColm, M L (LP) 1949–1961

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Bowman

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.