2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Blair

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Harold Blair AO 1924–76. A noted Australian tenor and Aboriginal activist.

Area and Location Description:

Blair covers an area of approximately 5305 sq km west of Brisbane. Containing most of the City of Ipswich and the shires of Boonah, Laidley and Gatton, the division stretches from Riverview and Redbank Plains in the east to Withcott in the west, and from Churchable in the north to the New South Wales border in the south. Main towns include Boonah, Gatton, Grantham, Harrisville, Helidon, Ipswich, Kalbar, Laidley, Marburg, Rosewood, Walloon, Warrill View and Withcott.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Bean and grain crops, vegetables, lucerne, sunflower and dairy farming. A campus of the University of Queensland is situated near Gatton.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Neumann, S (ALP) 2007–
  • Thompson, C (LP) 1998–2007

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Blair

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.