2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Bennelong

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal man whom Governor Phillip befriended in 1789.

Area and Location Description:

Bennelong covers an area of approximately 58 sq km from Roselea and Melrose Park in the west, bounded by the Parramatta River in the south and the Lane Cove River in the east, with the Lane Cove River, Devlins Creek and the Hills Motorway providing the northern boundary. Suburbs include Denistone, Epping, East Ryde, Eastwood, Macquarie Park, Marsfield, Meadowbank, Melrose Park, Putney, North Ryde, Ryde, West Ryde and parts of Carlingford, Ermington and Gladesville.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • McKew, M (ALP) 2007–
  • Howard, J (LP) 1974–2007
  • Cramer, J O (LP) 1949–1974

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Bennelong

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.