2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Bass

Updated: 6 October 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Dr George Bass (1771–1803), an early settler and explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Bass covers an area of approximately 7 343 sq km from Launceston in the south to Flinders Island in the north. The City of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Lilydale, Legana (part), Ringarooma and Scottsdale, as well as Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island & Flinders Island are in this division.

Products/Industries of the Area:

Aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Campbell, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Ferguson, M (LP) 2004–2007
  • O'Byrne, M (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Smith, W L (LP) 1996–1998
  • Smith, S J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Smith, W L (LP) 1984–1993
  • Newman, K E (LP) 1975–1984
  • Barnard, L H (ALP) 1954–1975
  • Kekwick, B H (LP) 1949–1954
  • Barnard, H C (ALP) 1934–1949
  • Guy, J A (ALP/UAP) 1929–1934
  • Jackson, D S (NAT) 1919–1929
  • Jensen, J A (ALP) 1910–1919
  • Storrer, D (PROT) 1903–1910

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Bass

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.