2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Barton

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Edmund Barton 1849–1920, the first Prime Minister of Australia 1901–03.

Area and Location Description:

Barton covers an area of approximately 38 sq km from Arncliffe and Turrella in the north to the Georges River in the south, Botany Bay in the east and generally to the Illawarra railway line in the west. The main suburbs include Allawah, Arncliffe, Banksia, Bardwell Valley, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Brighton-Le-Sands, Carss Park, Connells Point, Dolls Point, Hurstville Grove, Hurstville South, Kogarah, Kogarah Bay, Kyeemagh, Kyle Bay, Monterey, Ramsgate, Ramsgate Beach, Rockdale, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Turrella, Wolli Creek and parts of Bexley, Carlton, Hurstville, Mortdale, Oatley and Penshurst.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and retail industry, tourism, oyster farming, medical supplies and health services.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • McClelland, R (ALP) 1996–
  • Punch, G F (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Bradfield, J M (LP) 1975–1983
  • Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1969–1975
  • Arthur, W T (LP) 1966–1969
  • Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1958–1966
  • Evatt, H V (ALP) 1940–1958
  • Lane, A (UAP) 1931–1940
  • Tully, J T (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Ley, T J (NAT) 1925–1928
  • McDonald, F A (ALP) 1922–1925

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Barton

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.