2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Banks

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after botanist Sir Joseph Banks 1743–1820, who accompanied Captain Cook on his voyage to Australia in 1770.

Area and Location Description:

Banks covers an area of approximately 59 sq km bordered by the Georges River in the south and west, the Illawarra railway line, Penshurst Street, the East Hills railway line, Josephine Street and Belmore Road in the east, Rabaul Road, Marion Street and the Sydenham Bankstown railway line in the north. The main suburbs include East Hills, Lugarno, Manahan, Milperra, Padstow, Padstow Heights, Panania, Peakhurst, Peakhurst Heights, Picnic Point, Revesby Heights and parts of Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Mortdale, Narwee, Oatley, Penshurst, Punchbowl, Revesby and Riverwood.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and service industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Melham, D (ALP) 1990–
  • Mountford, J G (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Martin, V J (ALP) 1969–1980
  • Costa, D E (ALP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Banks

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.